Freeing Myself – The Philosophy of Anarcho-Capitalism Pt. 2

This is a continuation of the first part of my story, Freeing Myself – The Philosophy of Anarcho-Capitalism Pt. 1. To get the full context of the story, click here to read it. Enjoy!

In being so hateful towards those who advocated for the state and those who are religious, am I any better than those who attacked me in the past? Was I doing myself any favors, preaching peace, love, acceptance, and prosperity as an AnCap while tearing down anyone who differed from me in opinion? If I advocated for a peaceful society, with people applying voluntarist principles with interacting with each other in conversation, relationships, and business, should that not also be reflected in my personal life as well?

From the moment I had truly realized this, I knew that I had to change my way of thinking and approaching things from an AnCap perspective. I couldn’t continue on bashing people for being “statists” just because it made me feel good and use the philosophy and Anarcho-Capitalism as a cover to do. I believe in advocating for the freedom of mankind and I needed that to show in how I spoke with and acted towards others.

Handshake

It may not be popular to do and there are AnCaps and Free Market Anarchists who would call me a hypocrite for doing so. While I may not vote or promote members of the House, Senate, or of the Executive Branch, I’m fine with people that do vote and praise the actions of government officials when they take steps towards shutting down parts of the government. I encourage civil interactions with people who oppose AnCap values, no matter what picture is painted of them by the media or by the AnCap community.

I’m tired of being the angry, depressed, and hopeless anarchist that’s always fighting an uphill battle. Its much easier and healthier to try and engage people as fellow human beings, to hear their opinions, and to work with them on why an Anarcho-Capitalist society would benefit everyone. Being someone that’s been the target of abuse, neglect, and ostracization, I can say with no reservations that being aggressive towards others is not the way to try and persuade someone that what you’re saying is valid and just. Dismissing someone’s opinion because it fits the narrative of a stereotype and then treating them with disdain only creates a chasm between ourselves and those we’re trying to persuade.

pexels-photo

I know that it isn’t an easy thing to do, I’ve walked down that path in life. It requires a lot of reflection on who you are, why you do things the way that you do, what are the root causes of these actions, and then a lot of work to not do them. It’s taken a long time to get to where I am now and I know that I still have a lot of work left to be the person I want to be. It’ll take just as long of a time for my voice and the way of thinking that I promote to reach others and become something that other members of the community will pick up on.

All I can ask is for anyone that has read this to take the time to reflect on themselves, how they treat others, and what they stand for. To try and understand what I’ve said and see if even one thing resonates with them, personally. Then, maybe we can all see some progress towards an AnCap society take place and for the world to be more open to our ways.

Leave a Reply

